Template Options

Complete guide to configuration options and customization capabilities for the Momentum .NET template, enabling you to generate solutions precisely tailored to your architectural and business requirements.

Overview

The Momentum template (dotnet new mmt) provides extensive customization through conditional compilation and parameter-driven generation. Understanding these options helps you create solutions that match your exact requirements:

Component Selection: Choose which projects and features to include
Infrastructure Configuration: Database, messaging, and observability setup
Library Management: Control dependency inclusion and customization
Content Options: Sample code, solution structure, and documentation
Post-Generation Actions: Automated configuration and setup

Template Parameter Reference

Project Component Parameters

Control which projects are generated in your solution:

Parameter	Type	Default	Description
`--api`	bool	true	Generate REST/gRPC API project for synchronous operations
`--back-office`	bool	true	Generate background processing project for asynchronous operations
`--orleans`	bool	false	Generate Orleans-based stateful processing project
`--aspire`	bool	true	Generate .NET Aspire orchestration project for local development
`--docs`	bool	true	Generate VitePress documentation project

TIP

When no specific components are specified (all defaults), the template generates a complete solution with all components included.

Infrastructure Configuration Parameters

Configure your application's infrastructure dependencies:

Parameter	Type	Default	Options	Description
`--db-config`	choice	default	`default`, `npgsql`, `liquibase`, `none`	Database setup configuration
`--kafka`	bool	true	-	Include Apache Kafka messaging infrastructure
`--port`	int	8100	-	Base port number for all services

Database Configuration Options:

default: PostgreSQL with Liquibase migrations (recommended for most scenarios)
npgsql: PostgreSQL database provider only (for custom migration strategies)
liquibase: Database-agnostic migrations only (for existing databases)
none: No database configuration (for pure messaging or stateless services)

Content and Structure Parameters

Control the generated content and solution structure:

Parameter	Type	Default	Description
`--no-sample`	bool	false	Skip generating sample Cashiers/Invoices domain code
`--project-only`	bool	false	Generate only projects without solution files, .gitignore, etc.
`--org`	string	"[ProjectName] Team"	Organization name for copyright headers and documentation

Library Integration Parameters

Control how Momentum libraries are included in your solution:

Parameter	Type	Default	Options	Description
`--libs`	choice	none	`none`, `defaults`, `api`, `ext`, `kafka`, `generators`	Which libraries to include as project references
`--lib-name`	string	"Momentum"	-	Custom prefix to replace "Momentum" in library names

Library Inclusion Options:

none: Use NuGet packages for all Momentum libraries (recommended for production)
defaults: Include Momentum.ServiceDefaults as project reference
api: Include API-related libraries (ServiceDefaults.Api, XmlDocs)
ext: Include Momentum.Extensions for core functionality
kafka: Include Kafka messaging extensions
generators: Include source generators for DbCommand and other features

NOTE

Multiple library options can be specified: --libs defaults,api,ext

Conditional Compilation System

The Momentum template uses sophisticated conditional compilation to generate precisely the code you need:

Compilation Symbols

The template automatically computes these symbols based on your parameters:

Symbol	Condition	Purpose
`INCLUDE_API`	`--api` or all defaults	Include API-related code
`INCLUDE_BACK_OFFICE`	`--back-office` or all defaults	Include background processing code
`INCLUDE_ORLEANS`	`--orleans` is specified	Include Orleans-specific code
`INCLUDE_ASPIRE`	`--aspire` or all defaults	Include Aspire orchestration
`INCLUDE_SAMPLE`	`--no-sample` is NOT specified	Include sample domain code
`USE_PGSQL`	Database configuration includes PostgreSQL	Include PostgreSQL setup
`USE_LIQUIBASE`	Database configuration includes Liquibase	Include migration setup
`USE_KAFKA`	`--kafka` and has backend components	Include Kafka messaging

Conditional Code Patterns

C# Source Files:

csharp

#if USE_KAFKA
builder.Services.AddKafkaMessaging(builder.Configuration);
#endif

#if INCLUDE_ORLEANS
app.MapOrleansEndpoints();
#endif

Project Files:

xml

<!--#if (INCLUDE_API) -->
<ProjectReference Include="..\AppDomain.Api\AppDomain.Api.csproj" />
<!--#endif -->

<!--#if (USE_KAFKA) -->
<PackageReference Include="Confluent.Kafka" Version="2.3.0" />
<!--#endif -->

Configuration Files:

yaml

# #if (USE_KAFKA)
kafka:
    image: confluentinc/cp-kafka:latest
# #endif

Template Usage Examples and Scenarios

Minimal API-Only Service

For lightweight, stateless services focused on REST/gRPC endpoints:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n OrderService \
  --api \
  --no-back-office \
  --no-orleans \
  --no-docs \
  --no-sample \
  --db-config none

Generated Projects: OrderService.Api, OrderService (minimal) Use Case: API gateways, proxy services, read-only endpoints

Orleans-Heavy Processing Service

For stateful, event-driven processing without REST APIs:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n ProcessingEngine \
  --orleans \
  --no-web-api \
  --port 9000 \
  --kafka

Generated Projects: ProcessingEngine.BackOffice.Orleans, ProcessingEngine.BackOffice, ProcessingEngine, ProcessingEngine.ContractsUse Case: Event processing, workflow engines, stateful business logic

Full-Stack Microservice

Complete microservice with all capabilities:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n EcommercePlatform \
  --org "Acme Corp" \
  --port 7000 \
  --orleans \
  --kafka \
  --docs

Generated Projects: All projects including Orleans, API, BackOffice, documentation Use Case: Complete business domains, complex workflows, full-featured services

Development Environment Setup

For contributing to Momentum or extending the platform:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n DevApp \
  --libs defaults,api,ext,generators \
  --lib-name AcmePlatform \
  --no-sample

Features:

Project references to Momentum libraries for debugging
Custom library naming for organizational branding
Clean slate without sample code

Decision Guide for Template Parameters

Choose Your Architecture Pattern

API-First Services (Front Office focus):

bash

# Synchronous request/response patterns
dotnet new mmt -n ServiceName --api --no-back-office --no-orleans

Event-Driven Services (Back Office focus):

bash

# Asynchronous message processing
dotnet new mmt -n ServiceName --back-office --no-web-api --kafka

Hybrid Services (Full CQRS):

bash

# Both synchronous and asynchronous capabilities
dotnet new mmt -n ServiceName --api --back-office --kafka

Stateful Processing (Orleans-based):

bash

# Complex state management and workflows
dotnet new mmt -n ServiceName --orleans --kafka

Database Strategy Selection

Strategy	When to Use	Parameters
Full Database	New projects with data persistence	`--db-config default`
PostgreSQL Only	Existing database or custom migrations	`--db-config npgsql`
Liquibase Only	Database-agnostic or multiple DB types	`--db-config liquibase`
No Database	Stateless services or external data	`--db-config none`

Library Integration Strategy

Strategy	When to Use	Parameters
NuGet Packages	Production deployments	`--libs none` (default)
Development Setup	Contributing to Momentum	`--libs defaults,api,ext,generators`
Selective References	Specific debugging needs	`--libs defaults,api`
Custom Branding	Organizational forks	`--lib-name YourPrefix`

Project Structure Variations

Complete Solution Structure

MyApp/                          # --project-only false (default)
├── src/
│   ├── MyApp.Api/              # --api (default: true)
│   ├── MyApp.BackOffice/       # --back-office (default: true)
│   ├── MyApp.BackOffice.Orleans/ # --orleans (default: false)
│   ├── MyApp.AppHost/          # --aspire (default: true)
│   ├── MyApp/                  # Core domain (automatic with backend)
│   └── MyApp.Contracts/        # Integration events (automatic with backend)
├── tests/
│   └── MyApp.Tests/            # Comprehensive testing (automatic with backend)
├── infra/
│   └── MyApp.Database/         # --db-config default|liquibase
├── docs/                       # --docs (default: true)
├── libs/Momentum/              # --libs [any option except none]
├── MyApp.sln                   # Solution file
├── compose.yml                 # Docker Compose configuration
├── .gitignore                  # Git configuration
└── README.md                   # Project documentation

Minimal Project Structure

MyApp/                          # --project-only
├── src/
│   ├── MyApp.Api/              # --api --no-back-office
│   └── MyApp/                  # Minimal core
└── tests/
    └── MyApp.Tests/            # Basic testing

Orleans-Focused Structure

MyApp/                          # --orleans --no-web-api
├── src/
│   ├── MyApp.BackOffice.Orleans/
│   ├── MyApp.BackOffice/
│   ├── MyApp/
│   └── MyApp.Contracts/
├── tests/
│   └── MyApp.Tests/
└── infra/
    └── MyApp.Database/

Library Integration Details

Understanding Library Dependencies

The Momentum platform consists of several interconnected libraries:

Momentum.ServiceDefaults
├── Core service configuration
├── OpenTelemetry setup
├── Health checks
└── Logging configuration

Momentum.ServiceDefaults.Api
├── API-specific extensions
├── Swagger/OpenAPI configuration
├── gRPC setup
└── Depends on: ServiceDefaults, XmlDocs

Momentum.Extensions
├── Core utilities and extensions
├── Database command generation
├── Result patterns
└── Validation helpers

Momentum.Extensions.Messaging.Kafka
├── Kafka integration
├── CloudEvents support
├── Message serialization
└── Depends on: Extensions

Momentum.Extensions.SourceGenerators
├── DbCommand source generation
├── Event documentation generation
└── Compilation-time code generation

Package References (Default)

Recommended for production deployments:

xml

<PackageReference Include="Momentum.ServiceDefaults" Version="1.0.0" />
<PackageReference Include="Momentum.Extensions" Version="1.0.0" />

Benefits:

Stable, versioned dependencies
Faster build times
Smaller repository size

Project References (Development)

Use when contributing to Momentum or customizing libraries:

xml

<ProjectReference Include="../libs/Momentum/src/Momentum.ServiceDefaults/Momentum.ServiceDefaults.csproj" />
<ProjectReference Include="../libs/Momentum/src/Momentum.Extensions/Momentum.Extensions.csproj" />

Benefits:

Source-level debugging
Immediate reflection of changes
Ability to modify library code

Custom Library Naming

For organizational forks or branding:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n MyApp --lib-name "AcmePlatform"

Result:

xml

<ProjectReference Include="../libs/AcmePlatform/src/AcmePlatform.ServiceDefaults/AcmePlatform.ServiceDefaults.csproj" />

Post-Generation Actions

The template includes automated post-setup actions that run immediately after generation:

Automatic Configuration

Port Configuration Updates
- Replaces all instances of SERVICE_BASE_PORT with your specified port
- Updates Docker Compose, Aspire configuration, and project settings
- Ensures consistent port allocation across all services
Library Renaming
- Replaces "Momentum" prefix with your custom --lib-name value
- Updates file names, namespaces, and project references
- Maintains library dependency relationships
Solution Integration
- Adds generated projects to the solution file
- Configures project dependencies and build order
- Updates solution folders for organization
Cleanup Operations
- Removes temporary post-setup tools
- Cleans up template generation artifacts
- Finalizes project structure

Manual Configuration Required

After generation, you'll need to configure environment-specific settings:

bash

# 1. Update connection strings for your environment
# Edit appsettings.Development.json in each service:
{
  "ConnectionStrings": {
    "AppDomainDb": "Host=localhost;Database=myapp;Username=dev;Password=dev"
  }
}

# 2. Configure external service endpoints
# Update Kafka, Orleans, and other service configurations

# 3. Set up authentication if needed
# Configure JWT, OAuth, or other auth mechanisms

# 4. Customize observability settings
# Configure OpenTelemetry exporters, logging levels, metrics

Advanced Customization Patterns

Template Parameter Combinations

Microservice Architecture (Multiple services):

bash

# Gateway service
dotnet new mmt -n ApiGateway --api --no-back-office --no-sample --port 8000

# Processing service
dotnet new mmt -n OrderProcessor --back-office --orleans --no-web-api --port 8100

# Notification service
dotnet new mmt -n NotificationService --back-office --no-web-api --no-sample --port 8200

Monolithic Application (Single comprehensive service):

bash

dotnet new mmt -n MonolithApp --api --back-office --orleans --docs --port 8000

Event-Driven System (Heavy messaging focus):

bash

dotnet new mmt -n EventProcessor --back-office --orleans --kafka --no-web-api --no-sample

Custom Template Modification

For organizations needing custom template behavior:

Fork the Template Repository

Modify Conditional Compilation:

json

"symbols": {
  "custom-feature": {
    "type": "parameter",
    "datatype": "bool",
    "description": "Include custom organizational feature"
  }
}

Add Custom Project Templates
Extend Post-Generation Actions

Best Practices and Guidelines

Parameter Selection Strategy

Start Minimal, Add Complexity

bash

# Begin with minimal requirements
dotnet new mmt -n MyService --api --no-back-office --no-sample

# Add components as requirements evolve
dotnet new mmt -n MyService --api --back-office --kafka

Consider Deployment Target Early
- Container environments: Include Aspire for local development
- Cloud deployments: Use package references for libraries
- On-premises: Consider Liquibase for database-agnostic migrations
Plan for Observability
- Always include health checks and logging
- Consider OpenTelemetry exporters for your monitoring stack
- Plan distributed tracing across services

Development Workflow Best Practices

Template Generation Workflow:

bash

# 1. Create template with project references for development
dotnet new mmt -n MyApp --libs defaults,api,ext --no-sample

# 2. Develop and test with immediate feedback
dotnet build
dotnet test

# 3. Switch to package references for production builds
# Update project files to use PackageReference instead of ProjectReference

Consistent Naming and Ports:

bash

# Use consistent port ranges for related services
dotnet new mmt -n UserService --port 8100
dotnet new mmt -n OrderService --port 8200
dotnet new mmt -n PaymentService --port 8300

Team Collaboration Guidelines

Template Configuration Documentation:

yaml

# team-template-config.yml
project-templates:
    api-service:
        command: "dotnet new mmt -n {name} --api --no-back-office --no-sample --port {port}"
        use-case: "REST/gRPC endpoints without background processing"

    processing-service:
        command: "dotnet new mmt -n {name} --back-office --orleans --no-web-api --kafka --port {port}"
        use-case: "Event-driven background processing with state"

    full-service:
        command: "dotnet new mmt -n {name} --api --back-office --kafka --docs --port {port}"
        use-case: "Complete CQRS service with API and processing"

Shared Development Environment:

Use --libs defaults,api,ext for consistent debugging experience
Maintain shared --org value for copyright consistency
Document port allocation strategy to avoid conflicts

Common Use Cases and Solutions

Microservice Architecture

Generate multiple specialized services:

bash

# API Gateway (lightweight, stateless)
dotnet new mmt -n ApiGateway \
  --api --no-back-office --no-orleans \
  --no-sample --db-config none --port 8000

# User Management (CRUD operations)
dotnet new mmt -n UserService \
  --api --back-office \
  --db-config default --port 8100

# Order Processing (stateful workflows)
dotnet new mmt -n OrderService \
  --api --back-office --orleans \
  --kafka --port 8200

# Notification Service (pure messaging)
dotnet new mmt -n NotificationService \
  --back-office --no-web-api \
  --kafka --db-config none --port 8300

Event-Driven System

Heavy messaging with complex state management:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n EventProcessor \
  --back-office --orleans \
  --kafka --no-web-api \
  --no-sample --port 8100

API-First Development

Focus on REST/gRPC endpoints:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n ApiService \
  --api --no-back-office \
  --db-config npgsql --no-kafka \
  --no-sample --port 8100

Legacy Integration

Integrate with existing systems:

bash

dotnet new mmt -n LegacyBridge \
  --back-office --no-web-api \
  --db-config none --no-kafka \
  --no-sample --port 8100

Troubleshooting Template Generation

Common Issues and Solutions

Template Installation:

bash

# If template not found
dotnet new install Momentum.Template

# If outdated template
dotnet new uninstall Momentum.Template
dotnet new install Momentum.Template

Build Errors After Generation:

bash

# Restore packages
dotnet restore

# Clean and rebuild
dotnet clean
dotnet build

# Check for missing dependencies
dotnet list package --outdated

Port Conflicts:

bash

# Check for port usage
netstat -an | grep :8100

# Generate with different port
dotnet new mmt -n MyApp --port 9000

Quick Reference

Essential Parameter Combinations

Scenario	Command
API Only	`dotnet new mmt -n App --api --no-back-office --no-sample`
Processing Only	`dotnet new mmt -n App --back-office --no-web-api --kafka`
Full CQRS	`dotnet new mmt -n App --api --back-office --kafka`
Orleans State	`dotnet new mmt -n App --orleans --kafka`
Development	`dotnet new mmt -n App --libs defaults,api,ext --no-sample`
Minimal	`dotnet new mmt -n App --project-only --no-sample --db-config none`

Port Allocation Guide

Service Type	Suggested Range	Example
API Services	8000-8099	`--port 8000`
Processing Services	8100-8199	`--port 8100`
Orleans Services	8200-8299	`--port 8200`
Utility Services	8300-8399	`--port 8300`

Next Steps

Install the Template:
bash
```
dotnet new install Momentum.Template
```
Choose Your Architecture: Review the decision guide above
Generate Your Solution: Use appropriate parameters for your needs
Follow the Walkthrough: See Template Walkthrough for step-by-step guidance
Configure Services: Review Service Configuration for setup details

Template Walkthrough - Step-by-step generation guide
Service Configuration - Post-generation configuration
Database Guide - Database setup and migrations
Messaging Guide - Kafka and event handling
CQRS Guide - Commands, queries, and patterns

Template Options ​

Overview ​

Template Parameter Reference ​

Project Component Parameters ​

Infrastructure Configuration Parameters ​

Content and Structure Parameters ​

Library Integration Parameters ​

Conditional Compilation System ​

Compilation Symbols ​

Conditional Code Patterns ​

Template Usage Examples and Scenarios ​

Minimal API-Only Service ​

Orleans-Heavy Processing Service ​

Full-Stack Microservice ​

Development Environment Setup ​

Decision Guide for Template Parameters ​

Choose Your Architecture Pattern ​

Database Strategy Selection ​

Library Integration Strategy ​

Project Structure Variations ​

Complete Solution Structure ​

Minimal Project Structure ​

Orleans-Focused Structure ​

Library Integration Details ​

Understanding Library Dependencies ​

Package References (Default) ​

Project References (Development) ​

Custom Library Naming ​

Post-Generation Actions ​

Automatic Configuration ​

Manual Configuration Required ​

Advanced Customization Patterns ​

Template Parameter Combinations ​

Custom Template Modification ​

Best Practices and Guidelines ​

Parameter Selection Strategy ​

Development Workflow Best Practices ​

Team Collaboration Guidelines ​

Common Use Cases and Solutions ​

Microservice Architecture ​

Event-Driven System ​

API-First Development ​

Legacy Integration ​

Troubleshooting Template Generation ​

Common Issues and Solutions ​

Quick Reference ​

Essential Parameter Combinations ​

Port Allocation Guide ​

Next Steps ​

Related Documentation ​

Template Options

Overview

Template Parameter Reference

Project Component Parameters

Infrastructure Configuration Parameters

Content and Structure Parameters

Library Integration Parameters

Conditional Compilation System

Compilation Symbols

Conditional Code Patterns

Template Usage Examples and Scenarios

Minimal API-Only Service

Orleans-Heavy Processing Service

Full-Stack Microservice

Development Environment Setup

Decision Guide for Template Parameters

Choose Your Architecture Pattern

Database Strategy Selection

Library Integration Strategy

Project Structure Variations

Complete Solution Structure

Minimal Project Structure

Orleans-Focused Structure

Library Integration Details

Understanding Library Dependencies

Package References (Default)

Project References (Development)

Custom Library Naming

Post-Generation Actions

Automatic Configuration

Manual Configuration Required

Advanced Customization Patterns

Template Parameter Combinations

Custom Template Modification

Best Practices and Guidelines

Parameter Selection Strategy

Development Workflow Best Practices

Team Collaboration Guidelines

Common Use Cases and Solutions

Microservice Architecture

Event-Driven System

API-First Development

Legacy Integration

Troubleshooting Template Generation

Common Issues and Solutions

Quick Reference

Essential Parameter Combinations

Port Allocation Guide

Next Steps

Related Documentation